As I am on the “other side of the desk” bringing web-based curriculum to districts, I also engage them with social media and utilizing technology students are bringing to the classroom (aka BYOD). It continues to amaze why we fight, in the name of “distraction”, or prevent students from BYOD and solely base instruction on how we learned versus meeting students in their best mode of learning.
Thank you for your article. I am also endeavoring to put together resources to educate reluctant educators with the plethora of resources at their disposal.

elketeaches

Pocket-Based Learning: My Cellphone Classroom | Powerful Learning Practice.

Love this post!  This is how I envision teaching can be but as of yet have not seen this in practice in any of my pre-service teaching experiences.

At the three High Schools that I have visited in the past two years mobile phones (cell-phones) have been BANNED in the classroom.  School Administrations and teachers had decided that mobile phones are distracting and have the potential for in-class cyberbullying and therefore had a NO-tolerance policy.  In all 3 schools students were advised to either a) hand in your mobile at the Student Services counter at the beginning of the day and get it back at the end of classes or b) keep your mobile on you but if a teacher catches you using it in class they should tell you to stop using it and take it to the office.  This is a…

View original post 230 more words

About jasonefennell

Hi! I am Jason Fennell and I partner with educators to incorporate successful online learning solutions that differentiate, individualize and promote the ultimate goal of student achievement. Following my first six years out of college, I chose to teach life skills to high school and community college students in northeast Texas. Students learned problem solving strategies, even though they are known as Algebra 1, Geometry and Development Math. HOW CAN I HELP YOU? My patient and persistent algebraic skills come in handy when you are looking to improve student performance. Having led classrooms, I am a great partner for transitioning and staging effective virtual learning solutions across your district. As I admit, my wife is right. If I were digging ditches, I would be the best ditch digger! You will find me ambitious and constantly seeking ways to improve the partnerships, processes and procedures by which educators leverage our online/web-based solutions via Edmentum.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

